Portal Links
Select Language


"The Governors provide a valuable blend of experience and expertise. They are successful in providing the stimulus and resources to ensure an effective education in line with the pupils’ needs and the school’s aims, from the EYFS upwards. They exercise prudent financial control and have ensured that the school benefits from high quality buildings, resources and staff." ISI 2013 

The Board of Governors has ultimate responsibility for the school and determines the general policy for it. The Governors meet as a Board three times a year.  There are eight Governor sub-committees: Finance and General Purposes Committee (meeting once a term), Marketing Committee (once a term), Education Committee (once a term), Development (meeting as often as needed during the redevelopment process), Nominations Committee (as required), Health and Safety (meeting once a term), Policies Committee (meets annually) and Steering Committee.

The Board consists of:

Mr g hill

Mr Gavin Hill MA FIA
Mr Hill is Chairman of the Governors and sits on the Finance and General Purposes and Policies Committees. Mr Hill is an Actuary. His three children attended Kingshott before moving on to Oundle.

Mrs s younghusband

Mrs Sue Younghusband FCA
Mrs Younghusband is a Chartered Accountant; she is the Board's Treasurer and the Chair of the Finance and General Purposes Committee. She is also the Governor responsible for Health and Safety and sits on the Policies Committee. Her son, Robin, attended Kingshott before moving on to Rugby.  She lives in Hitchin.

Kingshott governors chambers 2

Mrs Lisa Chambers BSc, ACA, JP
Mrs Chambers is a Chartered Accountant and a local Magistrate. She lives in Preston and has two children of school age. She sits on the Finance and General Purposes Committee.

Kingshott governors fitzpatrick 2

Mrs Louise Fitzpatrick MSc MCSP
Mrs Fitzpatrick works in the field of paediatric physiotherapy. She has in recent years lectured at the University of Hertfordshire. She now offers advice to staff on issues related to children’s physical development. Three Fitzpatrick children are pupils at Kingshott. Mrs Fitzpatrick is the Governor responsible for liaising with the Headmaster over Safeguarding and is a member of the Education Committee.

Kingshott governors hamilton 2

Mrs Sarah Hamilton LLB (Hons)
Mrs Hamilton is a Solicitor.  Her expertise lies mainly in the field of litigation. She and her family live in Hitchin and she has two children currently attending Kingshott. Mrs Hamilton sits on the Policies Committee.

Kingshott governors lancaster adlam 2

Mrs Jane Lancaster-Adlam BEd, MEd (Cantab) NPQH, CCET
Mrs Lancaster-Adlam has been in education her whole career and her specialism lies with the EYFS and Learning Support.  More recently she has been Head of Great Houghton School and is currently Head at Oracle Care School.  Mrs Lancaster-Adlam sits on the Education Committee.

Mr j marsh

Mr Jon Marsh
Mr Marsh is Deputy Chair of Governors.  Mr Marsh's family have had an association with Kingshott since it's formation and are deeply committed to the School.  He works in Insurance and Risk Management and lives in St. Ippolytts.  Mr Marsh sits on the Development, Nominations and Marketing Committees.

Kingshott governors midgley 2

Mr Richard Midgley BA (Ed) Hons.
Mr Midgley is the Assistant Head (External Affairs) at Bedford School where he has worked for the last 16 years.  He has extensive experience of school life and is now responsible for the schools Marketing, Admissions and Enterprise activity.  Mr Midgley sits on the Education, Policies and Marketing Committees.

Mr c nye

Mr Cliff Nye
Mr Nye is a well-known local businessman who has many family connections with Kingshott.  He is Chairman of the Development Committee and was the driving force behind the building of the new Pre-Prep.  He lives in Willian.

Kingshott governors sudweeks 2

Mr Martin Sudweeks
Mr Sudweeks has lived in Hitchin for 40 years.  He is a Chartered Surveyor by background.  He is a member of the Development Committee and his two sons are both pupils at the School.

Mr e wright

Mr Edmund Wright BSc Hons Arch, RIBA
Mr Wright joined the Board in September 2005. He is a local Architect and a key member of the Development Committee. His two daughters are former Kingshott pupils. He lives in Gosmore.

Should you need to contact the Chair of Governors, Mr Gavin Hill, this can be done via the school address.