Portal Links
Select Language


"The Governors provide a valuable blend of experience and expertise. They are successful in providing the stimulus and resources to ensure an effective education in line with the pupils’ needs and the school’s aims, from the EYFS upwards. They exercise prudent financial control and have ensured that the school benefits from high quality buildings, resources and staff." ISI 2013 

The Board of Governors has ultimate responsibility for the school and determines the general policy for it. The Governors meet as a Board three times a year.  There are eight Governor sub-committees: Finance and General Purposes Committee (meeting once a term), Education Committee (once a term), Development and Marketing Committee (meeting as often as needed during the redevelopment process), Nominations Committee (as required), Health and Safety (meeting once a term), Policies Committee (meets annually) and Steering Committee.

The Board consists of:

P1040923 Mr David Keast - Chair of Governors
Mr Keast is Chair of Governors. He is a retired banker and sits on the Finance and General Purpose and Development Committees. He lives in nearby Preston and his youngest daughter attended Kingshott during which time he was Chairman of the Kingshott Association.

Dr James Bentall MA PhD (Cantab) MBA ACMI MCMI
Dr Bentall is an economist and has recently retired from the post of Bursar at Princess Helena College.   He has previously worked in a variety of financial and consultancy roles. He sits on the Finance and General Purpose, Education and Nominations Committees.


Dr Peter Brooks - MB, ChB, DMRD, FRCR.
Dr Brooks is recently retired having worked as a Consultant Radiologist in both the NHS and Private Sectors for 30 years, including 15 years as the head of one of the largest private Radiology groups in the Home Counties. He was also head of Radiology training for the E&N Herts NHS Trust. His children were both educated at Kingshott. He lives in Letchworth Garden City. He will sit on the Marketing and Communications committee.

Ms Corry (BEd, NPQH) is recently retired (2019) having held senior management posts in both the maintained and independent sectors. This has included both pastoral and academic senior leadership roles,  19 years as Headmistress of Sherrardswood School and most recently as Interim Head for Princess Helena College. With over 12 years experience as an Independent Schools' Inspector, she  now inspects both educational quality and regulatory compliance
Kingshott governors midgley 2

Mr Richard Midgley BA (Ed) Hons.
Mr Midgley is the Assistant Head (External Affairs) at Bedford School where he has worked for the last 16 years. He has extensive experience of school life and is now responsible for the schools Marketing, Admissions and Enterprise activity.  Mr Midgley sits on the Education, Policies and Marketing Committees.


Mrs Harriet Marsh - BA Hons, PGCE (Cantab).
Mrs Marsh is a proud alumna of Kingshott as both a pupil and gap year teacher. She currently works in marketing and will primarily support the Marketing Committee, with a view to broadening her remit over time.  Outside of work, Harriet is a keen traveller and sportswoman, playing hockey for Blueharts. She hopes to bring a fresh and energetic approach to the governing board, and feels her skill set is well suited to supporting the school’s ethos and ambition to enable all at Kingshott to be “the best me I can be”.


Mr David Morgan
Mr Morgan joins us after taking early retirement from the city after a successful 30 year career at the highest level of risk management. He has worked for a number of well-known financial houses, ending his career with the European Bank for Reconstruction & Development. David will sit on the Finance & General Purposes Committee

P1050856 Ms Lara Pechard (BA, MA, PGCE)
Ms Pechard is currently Principal Deputy Head at Norwich School where she is in her eighth year.  Her role is varied and multi-faceted, with oversight of the pastoral side of the school and the day to day operational.  Previously she was at the Portsmouth Grammar where she started her teaching career and was Assistant Head and Head of Sixth Form before leaving.  Both schools are co-educational day and HMC.  She is a historian, with a particular interest in US History.  Outside of work she loves to travel, walk and spend time with family and friends. 

Mrs Samantha Selkirk (BEd Hons)
Mrs Selkirk is currently Head of Lower School at Reigate St Mary’s, and prior to this she was Head of Lower Juniors at St Christopher School. Sam has been in education for nearly thirty years having taught from Early Years through to Year 6 in the state and independent sectors, for seven years she ran a co-educational boarding house for 11-13 year olds. Sam is particularly interested in the significance of the Early Years and Key Stage 1 learning environments and Individual Needs provision.  


Mr Martin Sudweeks
Mr Sudweeks has lived in Hitchin for 40 years.  He is a Chartered Surveyor by background.  He is a member of the Development Committee and his two sons are both pupils at the School.


Miss Clare Waller, LL.B, LL.M
Miss Waller lives in Hitchin and is a solicitor. She has extensive experience of advising schools and other education establishments on all aspects of employment law.


Mr Jonathan Woods Bsc ACA
Mr Woods is a Chartered Accountant working as CFO for a music company in London. He has a long association with the school, both as a formal pupil and through the education of his four children over a period of 19 years. Jonathan sits on the Finance and General Purposes Committee.

Should you need to contact the Chair of Governors, Mr David Keast, this can be done via the school address.